How Sheikh Zayed Bin Sultan Al Nahyan founded UAE, United Arab Emirates

Sheikh Zayed Bin Sultan Al Nahyan, founder of the UAE, became the Ruler of Abu Dhabi in 1966, and while working on developing the emirate – building schools, hospitals and roads, he thought of forming a unity with the neighboring emirates of the Arabian Gulf.

He was the first to call for the formation of the United Arab Emirates immediately after Britain announced it would withdraw from the region.

The United Arab Emirates comprises seven emirates, which occupy the southeastern corner of the Arabian Peninsula.

Each emirate, unique and rich in tradition, is an essential component necessary for making up the whole.

The emirates are: Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Sharjah, Ajman, Umm al Quwain, Fujairah and Ras Al Khaimah

The Rulers of the six Trucial States: Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Sharjah, Ajman, Umm al Quwain and Fujairah, decided to form the United Arab Emirates in a meeting held in Dubai on 18th July 1971. The foundation of an independent, sovereign state was formally proclaimed on 2nd December 1971. A few months later, Ras Al Khaimah joined the federation on February 10, 1972.

The first cargo of crude oil was exported from Abu Dhabi in 1962. With revenues growing as oil production increased, Sheikh Zayed undertook a massive construction program, building schools, housing, hospitals and roads.